More counties sign on

Jan. 5, 2015 – Two more counties have signed on to support the Pa. State Land Tax Fairness Coalition. Boards of Commissioners in Juniata and Monroe counties have most recently affirmed their support.

About two dozen of Pennsylvania’s 67 counties have 20,000 or more acres of state-owned land. Commissioners from all but a handful of those counties have signed on for the coalition’s campaign. Interestingly, commissioners from several counties with little or no state land are also coming aboard in recognition of the financial plight many of their colleagues are facing.

Steering committee members plan to continue reaching out to counties that have not officially come on board to seek their support.

More Counties

Potter County Commissioner Paul Heimel (right) took the Pa. State Land Tax Fairness Coalition mission to Monroe County. He confers here with Commissioners’ Board Chairman John Moyer (left) and Chief Clerk Greg Christine.